Five outstanding Papua New Guineans were recognised as winners of the 2018 Papua New Guinea Australia Alumni Association (PNGAAA) Alumni Awards at a Reception held in Port Moresby on 19 July 2019. The event was attended by distinguished guests, PNGAAA alumni and representatives from various Australian education institutions.

The winners in the five awards categories include: Alumni of the Year Gertrude Tamade-Elai, Australian High Commission Papua New Guinea Women in Leadership Tina Mark, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Cheryl Mondo-Mulas, Young Leader Dr Izzard Aglua and Community Service Engagement Dr Hilda Audubo.

The Alumni Awards recognise and honour alumni who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, innovation, creativity and made outstanding contributions to their profession, community and Papua New Guinea and who have inspired others through their local, national and international connections and achievements.

PNGAAA President Dr Janet Rangou in congratulating the winners said Australia Awards alumni were integral to the future of Papua New Guinea and it was exciting to see their contributions formally recognised through these awards.

“The nominations attracted alumni members who are of the finest calibre and they should all be proud of their achievements,” added Dr Rangou.

“I congratulate all of the winners and shortlisted nominees and look forward to them continuing their outstanding contribution as PNGAAA Alumni.”

Nominations for the 2019 Alumni Awards will open later this year.